Blue and Gold Macaw

Age or Hatch Date: 4/22/96

Gender: Female

Best qualities: Still being assessed.

Favorite food: Pinenuts, walnut, pecans, almonds, and Cheerios.

Favorite toys: Metal bell and wood.

Challenges/Quirks: A bit wary of men, but is warming up to her foster dad.

Gets along with other birds: Yes

Gets along with dogs: Yes

Gets along with cats: Yes

Gets along with kids: Unknown

Dowel or Step Up trained: Knows step-up

Vocabulary: Hi, Hi Bird, Hello, Good Bird, How are you?, Kiss, No bite, Bye Bye, Ni Night, Wanna go out?, No, Goodbye, Do you wanna eat? Do you wanna go out?

Known health issues: None.

Other comments:  The following is from her family -  Kiri is a 23-year old female Blue and Gold Macaw (hatched 4/22/96). She was 3-months old when she joined our family. The family home has had anywhere from one to eleven birds at a time including macaws, cockatoos, conures, lovebirds, parrotlets and an African Grey. A bedroom called the 'bird room' is where the birds' cages were located until about two-years ago. Kiri and an African Grey were two of the birds who talked, with Kiri having a number of well-timed phrases. She will say 'no' to the dog, say 'goodbye' as people walk to the door and much more. Kiri is a wonderful pet who has been raised and handled by a single owner. All of her care and interactions during most of her life have been with females (owner, family of owner, vet, vet techs etc.), so she is a bit wary of men. Kiri wakes up at 10am and gets a bowl of fresh fruit/veggies and a small slice of cheddar cheese. She also gets a handful of nuts and cheerios at this time. She comes out for about 30-minutes in the morning and flaps her wings 1000-1500 times while being held by her owner. Her cage is now located in the master bedroom, and she is the only bird remaining in our flock. When in her cage, there is an ultraviolet light above her cage that is on during the day, an oil-filled heater that keeps the room at a certain temperature, the blinds are open during the daytime hours, and the bedroom door is open so she sees people coming and going and the family dog or cat may come in the room as well. She has a bell that she loves to ring, wood pieces that she likes to chew, and cardboard pieces or egg cartons that she will destroy in her cage. ln the evening, she comes out for another hour and sits with her owner on her shoulder. She is very comfortable with the family dog and cat who are both known to sit beside her owner on the couch while Kiri is out. Kiri gets a bowl of seed in her cage each evening, and a couple of evenings a week, she eats a serving of warmed 'glop' from a small dish held by Joyce. At night, Kiri usually likes to sleep on a spiral rope perch that hangs from the top of her cage. Lights out time is between 10-11pm. We know Kiri is a female because she has laid eggs in 2013 and 2018. Her owner tries to prevent her from 'nesting' by minimizing materials such as newspaper or cardboard that she will shred into small pieces. Throughout her life, Kiri has had regular vet care and checkups. Kiri gets quite a bit of outdoor time during warm days and summer months. We have a large outdoor cage that is undercover that she goes in for a few hours on summer days. Other times, she will wear a leash and harness and sit with her owner in a chair outside. Her wings are not clipped and have not been for years, so she always wears a harness and leash outside when not in the outdoor cage.

Last updated: 9/25/2019

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2020 EBR/